Horse Carrot Cookies

She loves treats, the spoilt mare!

She loves treats, the spoilt mare!

I have been so excited all day to come home and make these! Red is one spoilt horse, I’ve taught her to give me kisses for treats, yes I know you’re probably thinking. “that will teach your horse to bite and crowd your personal space”  well luckily for me she is one of a kind, and doesn’t do that..yet.

So after work I rushed to the store and grabbed some carrots, drove home and found an awesome recipe on Pinterest, which has hundreds of delicious horsey treat ideas.I followed this recipe to a tee as it was my first time, although I’ll start adding my own ingredients next time.

Preheat your oven to 350!

equestrian horse treats delicious

Tip #1 try not to cut yourself and bleed in your horses treats…

Grate 4 large carrots, I was going to use 5 but 4 was enough.

equestrian horse treats

Tip #2 Avoid mixing with hands..

After you’ve finished grating the carrots add 2 tbsp of vegetable oil, 1/4 cup of molasses and 1 cup of oats . Mix together!

equestrian

Tip #3 even though your dog is begging at your side because they must have some, don’t do it. The result is soggy molasses/carrot mix on your kitchen floor.

So now that you have a delicious turd looking substance, roll in 1 cm balls, place on a baking tray (or in cupcake cases if you’re unprepared like me)

So pretty!

So pretty!

Bake for 20-25 Mins!

Delicious! for horses anyway.

Delicious! for horses anyway.

I flattened them down so they’re easier for the horses to chew. I also added some crushed peppermint to a few, our horses aren’t super mint fans.

FIN

Thanks for reading, if you added any of your own ingredients or used this recipe leave a comment, I love feedback

f

4 thoughts on “Horse Carrot Cookies

  1. Pingback: TOABH! (Blog hop) | changing the rein

Leave a Reply

